Day 4: Be flexible

utah

Miles traveled: 329

Pretty much none of today’s adventures were on the itinerary. Be flexible. It’s worth it. I drove from Idaho Springs to Green River Utah stopping at the Continental Divide and Hanging Lake.

First I drove over the Continental Divide through Loveland Pass.

_continental divide DSCN0198

Then I drove to Glenwood Springs and ate lunch at a rest stop.

Why use a table when you can eat here?

DSCN0212

Then I made my way back to Hanging Lake. It’s about a 1.5 mile hike to the top. Don’t let the short distance fool you, it is very steep and very rocky. I couldn’t believe some of the grandmas climbing to the top.

The moment I realized I might as well just keep my camera out of my backpack (the entrance)

DSCN0228

A few stops along the way…

DSCN0231 DSCN0239

Almost there!

DSCN0243

And finally the top.

DSCN0260 DSCN0250

And I don’t know who these two are, but I had to take a picture they were so cute.

DSCN0252 DSCN0256

And then if you hike just a short while from there, you end up at Spouting Rock. Here’s the view from underneath the waterfall.

DSCN0276

And from there I set out for Salt Lake City. In my next post, I’ll tell you why I didn’t make it.

Things I learned traveling from Colorado to Utah:

1.)    Just when you think the world is beautiful, it gets even more amazing.

2.)    If you are kind to others, they’ll be kind to you. Pay it forward.  As I was hiking up the Hanging Lake trail I noticed a few couples and solo hikers trying to take photos of themselves. It takes only a few seconds to stop and offer to frame it up for them. In turn I had a myriad of folks trying to take my picture at the top!

3.)    I love to hike. Hanging Lake trail was a more difficult trail than what I’ve been doing but that’s what made it fun. The beauty at the top was just icing on the cake. I’m definitely moving somewhere I can hike.

4.)    Why on earth someone would want to live in the middle of Utah or Nevada where civilization is miles away is beyond me.

5.)    Buying groceries has saved me about $100 already. And eating in parks is much more enjoyable than restaurants anyway.

6.)    I don’t think Utah is pretty at all.

7.)    I hate traveling on Memorial Day weekend. Why do people do it when they can save time and money traveling on a different weekend and get overtime on Memorial Day?

8.)   When someone points and yells in my direction, naturally I say hi… Not talking to me.

Leave a Reply

