Life is so much better when you let God take the reins.

A little preface

Tonight I’ve downed a tall Americano, my endorphins are still racing after a day in the Sequoias, and the entire 50 minute drive home I soothed the heart with Christian music and the soul with country…so I have to write.  No Bible verses, hyperlinks, or outside articles. Tonight’s post is straight from the heart.

Let’s talk about me

If anyone knows me, they know I like to plan. I obsessively rewrite schedules, color code my agenda, cover my desk in sticky notes, toil over every detail, etc. Look at this blog, for example, neatly organized in tabs, posts, and pages.

When it comes to planning life, I go at it with the same vigor.

My plan

Before college the plan was to major in dance, move to New York, and join Britney’s back up dance crew (you think I’m kidding… I’m not). Before journalism, the plan was to make a plan (and boy was I stressed). Before this summer, the plan was to intern in NYC this summer, graduate in 3 and 1/2 years, get my first reporting gig, and make my way back to the East Coast. California was never in the picture. The West Coast never appeared as an option. I closed a lot of doors before I could ever open them and peek inside.

Let God rewrite your life

By the grace of God, I am in Fresno, California.  If I were to stand in my faithless high school shoes, I would have laughed at my life now. Now I’m laughing at my life then.  As I’ve grown into faith, I’ve learned to give God the executive producer’s chair.  Thank God (Literally).  Fresno, California? Well, why not!

Of course, God’s plan was better (is and will be, too). Should I be surprised? (That’s rhetorical…don’t answer it)

There’s no reason to  worry when we’ve got God on our side.  The Lord will provide. All you have to do is turn your heart over to Him and fully and wholeheartedly believe. Throw anxiety out the door, nervousness in the trash, and yes, you might as well chuck those plans in the garbage disposal, too (am I the only one who never learned how to use one of those until college?).

God’s plan: The only plan

Have I written “plan” enough times that you forgot what it meant, yet? I’m just getting warmed up.

So many things in my life have changed…So many schedules rewritten…destinations rerouted…life decisions made without my say.  I wouldn’t want it any other way. I wouldn’t trade my experience in Fresno, California for a month in New York. I wouldn’t trade my career choice for a day dancing with Britney Spears (and that’s asking a lot from a diva 90’s baby).

Bottom line: I wouldn’t change my life one bit…not the ups, the downs, or the up-side-downs.

I keep referring to this summer only because it’s the most recent change of my extremely detailed plans. If I hadn’t let “Jesus take the wheel” as Carrie Underwood would say, I don’t think for a moment I’d be any happier. My life has taken a 180 degree turn from east to west. And I kind of like west better (literally and metaphorically speaking).

I’ve never been happier, more in tune with myself, this close to God, and I’ve sure as hell never had this much faith and trust.

…So how do you prepare for God’s rerouting?

You don’t…really…I don’t know. I’m new at this, too. The best way I’ve learned so far is just to work hard, have unwavering faith, and plan life with a pencil and a really big eraser.

One thought on “Life is so much better when you let God take the reins.

Leave a Reply

