Hume Lake, a godly experience

The only word powerful enough to describe Hume Lake is “godly.” I can see now why they host Christian camps there. The water was clear, air crisp, and sun perfectly warm.

Image

My camera finally broke for good…grainy pictures on my phone

IMG_20130620_171705

Finished up my bible reading today with Proverbs. Perfect place to read.

 

The original plan was to leave early, hike Sunset Loop Trail in Redwood Canyon and then swing up to Hume Lake after the 7 mile trail. Well, of course I slept in (woops!) Instead I just went straight to Hume Lake and spent the afternoon.

I read for hours in Sandy Cove. Good thing I brought three books and a magazine.  I could have read for hours more.

20130620_155214

Wittle baby ducks

 

20130620_132908

Just beautiful

While the entire scene was wonderful, next time someone remind me that sun rays are stronger at an elevation of 5,200 feet! I am red and CRISPY. Well worth it.

Before leaving I stopped by the gift shop at the Christian camp to browse and pick up some post cards. I paid with credit so the young girl behind the counter asked for an ID. When I pulled it out she gasped, “Woah, Iowa!” Yep…that’s me. She asked what brought me out here. I told her about my internship in Fresno. The girl wrinkled her nose and said, “Ohhh, Fres-Pit. I’m sorry.” Too bad I kind of like Fresno!  Although, driving back from the Sequoias i noticed it smelled a little worse than I remembered.

20130620_105825

Stopped on the way for my first plum at this fruit stand.

And before I go, I’ll leave you with this message.  I couldn’t help but smile as I passed this little place. “Got time? Make some.” I love that. We could all use that message sometimes.

IMG_20130620_110609

Only the world rewards you for being busy. But that’s not who matters. #MakeTime

Until next time, cheers from California!

picture197

Leave a Reply

