Spur-of-the-moment-seat-of-your-pants-kind-of-vacay

Well, here I go again.  At about noon yesterday I decided, “You know what? I’m goin’ on a road trip!”…Now here I am, on my way to Tennessee.

ia to tn

Suggestions along the way? Let me know!

Lately, Iowa City lacks the inspiration that I need. I’m a nature geek and with all this cold, I miss the outdoors! Therefore, destination Tennessee. Plus, without giving up too much information, I’m scoping out some work there.

For my last road trip I planned and planned and planned until I ran out of notepad paper. For this mini vacation/business trip I have no idea what I’m doing. I’m flying by the seat of my pants one day – no – one hour at a time. Notice how unorganized this packing process became with only a day to prepare…

20140317_204618

Also notice the half full glass of wine that may or may not have been refilled multiple times (Hey, I had to finish the bottle before I left!)

20140317_204629Knowing that I want the main focus of this trip (aside from business) to be outdoors, I packed a few staples – fleeces, hiking boots, tennis shoes and comfortable socks, and my trusty backpack.

20140317_213331

No, I did not pack five fleeces for six days…but I felt the need to photograph them rainbow style.

IMG_20140317_213002

I’m not going to lie to you and say I’m a pro at road trip packing, because let’s be real, do you see how many bags are in the photo below?

You say inefficient…

I say ultra-prepared.

IMG_0768What is in the cooler and laundry basket you ask? Well, I’m no fan of eating out. A.) It’s expensive and B.) it’s unhealthy! Since I don’t have to share the car I just dumped my kitchen into these two containers. Non-refrigerated food includes peanut butter, oatmeal, chia seeds, cashews/almonds, whole wheat English muffins, apples and Luna bars. In the cooler there’s mixed raw veggies, single serving hummus, greek yogurt, La Croix lemon water, and a few strawberries.

And now, I’ll leave you with this extremely embarrassing video because I get weird in the car. Sorry about vertical video syndrome.

Check back tomorrow for updates on St. Louis! Enjoy, y’all.

One thought on “Spur-of-the-moment-seat-of-your-pants-kind-of-vacay

Leave a Reply

