Friends, family and good music

padukah to nashville

From Paducah, KY to Nashville, TN

Last night I stayed in a $500 suite in the Drury Inn. HOLE-Y MOLE-Y! Pretty cool, eh? I’m big rollin’ now.

Just kidding. It was the last room left so I got it for 60 bucks.

Paducah is a quiet little river town squeezed between Missouri and Tennessee. Nothing special. I stopped down at the historic riverfront before I left, because why not? There was a very cute little coffee place near downtown, too. So many people were sitting around eating breakfast and talking in their Southern accents (I still can’t get over “ma’am and “honey”). I kind of felt like I was part of the town for a little bit.

IMG_0877 IMG_0880IMG_0891 IMG_0884

Friends

While in Nashville I walked up and down Broadway and weaved myself in and out of all the boot shops, bars, and diners.

IMG_0900 IMG_0898 IMG_0901

Eventually I planted myself at a bar called Honky Tonk Central. After half of a band performance with me, somehow, as the subject of all the lead singer’s stage talk (I guess it’s cuz I’m from Iowa) a group of guys finally came over and said hello. Man, they were fun!

honky tonk central

These guys all went to school together in Wyoming and were on vacation for a week. They bought me a few beers and led me in a few dances. Have I told you guys all how much I love country dancing?

I love it so much.

If you can dance…marry me.

IMG_0907 IMG_0909 IMG_0908

Eventually my three boyfriends and I had to part 😥 We exchanged numbers…but it’s too bad I won’t be back to Nashville before they leave. My only regret is that we didn’t get our picture together.

Family

After an hour of walking around and sobering up, I headed out to Hendersonville Tennessee where I ate dinner with Tom and Becky – Tom is my mom’s brother, so my uncle. It’s always so wonderful to be with family. And it was nice to sit down and relax for an evening with their three dogs and cat.  I think it’s been about 15 years since I’ve seen them!

tom

My Uncle Tom on the left (stole this picture from his website)

Good Music

Tom is such an inspiration to me. Born and raised in Iowa, he’s in Tennessee now following his dreams and songwriting.

Check out his webpage – his music is really good! (Course I’m biased)

http://www.savageehlts.com/

Nashville is, after all, the city of music. What better place to be?

Leave a Reply

